Has anyone won the Heisman twice? Alabama’s Bryce Young positioned for shot at history in 2022

Bryce Young made history this season in Alabama, which, being Alabama and everything that program has accomplished, seems like a tough thing to do. And yet Young, a sophomore from Pasadena, California, became the first Alabama quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy. Plus, not only did he win the award, he ran away with it.

Young got 684 first-place votes, while the next closest voter was Michigan’s Aidan Hutchinson with 78.

There’s good reason Young won the award as easily as he did. He threw for 4,503 yards and 46 touchdowns with just five interceptions and completed 67.6 percent of his passes this year. But even beyond the numbers, there were moments, like leading Alabama to a win from behind over Auburn in the Iron Bowl and a three-touchdown, 421-yard game against one of the nation’s best defenders in Georgia during the game by the SEC title.

Young will have a chance to further cement his legacy if he can lead Crimson Tide to a national title Monday night as they look to repeat as champions. But Young, a sophomore, is ineligible for this year’s NFL Draft, which means he will return to Tuscaloosa next season with a chance to win the Heisman Trophy for the second year in a row.

Sporting News looks at whether that feat has ever been accomplished and the story Young can still make down the road.

Has anyone won the Heisman Trophy twice?

In the 86 years that the Heisman has been awarded, only one player has won the award more than once.

Former Ohio State running back Archie Griffin won the award in both 1974 and 1975, becoming the first, and to date, the only player to take home the Heisman twice.

In 1974, Griffin rushed for 1,695 yards and 12 touchdowns on 256 carries on the way to his first Heisman. He beat out several future College Football Hall of Famers as well as future Professional Football Hall of Famer Randy White.

The following year, he rushed for 1,450 yards and four touchdowns to win the award for the second time, beating future American Football Hall of Famers Tony Dorsett and Lee Roy Selmon.

While Griffin’s record has held intact for 46 years, he could soon have company, as Young is currently a 200+ favorite to win next year’s award. according to Fox Bet.

2021 Heisman Trophy Voting Results

End up Player pos. College Total points 1st 2nd 3rd
one young bryce Quarterback Alabama 2,311 684 107 Four. Five
two Aidan hutchinson Delaware Michigan 954 78 273 174
3 Kenny pickett Quarterback piton 631 28 175 197
4 Cj stroud Quarterback Ohio State 399 12 118 127
5 Will Anderson Jr. LB Alabama 325 31 79 74
6 Kenneth Walker III RB Michigan state 245 18 53 85
7 Matt corral Quarterback old lady 150 10 32 56
8 Desmond rider Quarterback Cincinnati 81 5 fifteen 36
9 jordan davis DL Georgia 75 9 fifteen 18
10 breece room RB State of Iowa 17 0 5 7

Alabama Heisman Winners

With Young’s victory this year, Alabama has claimed the award in consecutive years, the first time since 2017-18 when Kyler Murray and Baker Mayfield won the Heisman while representing Oklahoma.

Crimson Tide became the sixth program in college football history to produce Heisman winners in consecutive years, after Yale (1936-37), Army (1945-46), Ohio State (1974-75), USC (2004 -05) and Oklahoma (2017-18).

Alabama has seen four different players take home one of college football’s greatest honors, starting with running back Mark Ingram in 2009 and most recently Young this year. Alabama is the only school with four winners, while Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma and USC (though Reggie Bush’s was later vacated) have had players win the award seven times.