When did your team last win a national title in football?

Georgia won its first national championship since 1980 with a 33-18 victory over Alabama in the 2022 college football championship game on Monday.

Quarterback Stetson Bennett threw two touchdowns in the fourth quarter, and Georgia coach Kirby Smart eventually scored a victory against his mentor Nick Saban.

Georgia had one of the longest droughts among the major FBS powers.

So who is next? When did your school last win a national championship in the Poll Age, which began in 1936 when the Associated Press awarded Minnesota a national championship? The AFCA National Championship Trophy (1945) and Grantland Rice Trophy (1954) have also been used to determine national championships in the past.

Here’s a closer look at all of those national champion teams since then:

  • Georgia beat Alabama 33-18 in the 2022 college football playoff championship game. Stetson Bennett threw two touchdowns in the fourth quarter, and the Bulldogs’ top-ranked defense allowed just one touchdown. That gave coach Kirby Smart his first national championship. He broke a 41-year drought dating back to the 1980 season with legendary coach Vince Dooley and star running back Herschel Walker.

  • Alabama won its sixth national championship with Nick Saban and its 18th as a program with a 52-24 victory over Ohio State in the 2021 College Football Playoff national championship game. Heisman Trophy winner DeVonta Smith led a cast that included to six All-Americans by consensus.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow led LSU to its fourth national championship in a convincing 42-25 victory over defending national champion Clemson in the college football championship game in New Orleans. Burrow passed for 463 yards and five TDs in the victory.

  • Clemson beat Alabama 44-16 in the 2019 college football championship game to become the first team to finish 15-0 since 1897. That gave the Tigers two national championships in three seasons under Dabo Swinney. .

  • Urban Meyer led the Buckeyes to victory in the first college football national championship game against Oregon. The Buckeyes won 42-20 for the program’s first national title since 2002.

  • The Seminoles, led by Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston, beat Auburn for the final BCS championship, 34-31. Jimbo Fisher gave the show its first national title since 1999.

  • Cam Newton’s incredible season propelled Auburn to the national championship in 2010. Newton led the Tigers to a perfect season and a 22-19 victory over Oregon in the BCS championship game.

  • Tim Tebow and Urban Meyer helped lead the Gators to their second national championship in three seasons. The Gators defeated Oklahoma 24-14 in the BCS championship game.

  • Vince Young’s momentous performance in the 2006 Rose Bowl led the Longhorns to a 41-38 victory over USC. Mack Brown delivered a national championship to the program with an undefeated season.

  • This national championship was vacated by Coaches Poll and BCS, but it still happened on the field. USC, led by Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart, beat Oklahoma 55-19. The Trojans also won the AP national championship in 2003.

  • The Hurricanes enjoyed a 12-0 season and dominated Nebraska 37-14 in the Rose Bowl. That gave the program its fifth national championship since 1983.

  • Oklahoma won the national championship in season two from Bob Stoops, defeating Florida State 13-2 in the BCS championship game.

  • Tennessee kicked off the era of the Bowl Championship Series with an undefeated season under Phillip Fulmer. The Volunteers defeated Florida State 23-16 in the Fiesta Bowl to win that national championship.

  • Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson and coach Lloyd Carr led the Wolverines to a 12-0 season and 21-16 victory over Washington State in the Rose Bowl, winning the AP national title.

  • Nebraska won a national championship division in 1997 in Tom Osborne’s final season. The Cornhuskers finished 13-0 and defeated Tennessee 42-17 in the Orange Bowl. As a result, Nebraska won the coaches poll.

  • Washington, led by Steve Emtman and a poor defense, won the coaches poll in 1991 after an undefeated season capped by a 34-14 victory over Michigan in the Rose Bowl. That gave Don James his first national championship.

  • Colorado lost early in the season to Illinois, but the Buffaloes rallied to win the remainder of their AP national championship games. Colorado beat Notre Dame 10-9 in the Orange Bowl, a game best remembered for the cutting call on Raghib Ismail’s punt return for a touchdown in the final minute.

  • Bobby Ross led the Yellow Jackets to the Coaches Poll national championship in 1990 after an 11-0-1 season that the Yellow Jackets capped with a 45-21 victory over Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

  • Lou Holtz led the Irish to an undefeated season, with the main 31-30 victory over Miami (Fla.) In South Bend in the regular season. Notre Dame beat West Virginia 34-21 in the Fiesta Bowl to cap off a 12-0 season.

  • The Nittany Lions went 12-0 to give Joe Paterno a second national championship. Penn State capped the season with a 14-10 victory over Miami (Fla.) In the 1987 Fiesta Bowl.

  • The Cougars had a fantastic season in 1984 with LaVell Edwards and Robbie Bosco. BYU is the last Group of 5 school to win a national title, and they did so with a 24-17 victory against Michigan in the Holiday Bowl.

  • The Panthers, led by Johnny Majors and Tony Dorsett, won the national championship after a 12-0 season that featured a 27-3 victory against Georgia in the Sugar Bowl.

  • Coaches survey







    AP survey

    Coaches survey